I Fly Through Time And Space: A Contemplative Piece

Yasmeen El Gerbi
2 min readJul 25, 2020
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

My being, like time, may be linear and limited

My being, like outer space, may be mysterious and full of different worlds

Though like time, my being is subject to the power of perception

And like space, my being is capable of ever-expanding, or shrinking into nothingness

But I am neither linear nor limited

I am neither expanding or shrinking

And I am not a perception too

Then who am I?

I am neither.

I recognize my being in the liminal space

In between time and space

Like time, I may be perceived as moving fast or slow

And like space, I may be going forwards or backwards

But I am neither.

Like infinite potential as the essence of space

And nonlinear potential as the essence of time

My being is a whole expressing it self in various shapes and forms

My being is not slow when it’s moving slow

And it is not backwards when it’s moving backwards

My being is just is

Like time, it can move fast or slow, but it will remain elastic

And like space, it can expand or shrink, but it will remain infinite

Like time and space, my being is infinite potential in its essence

And I conclude that I am no different than both

So when I spread my wings and fly, the whole wide universe will fly along

And together, we will create magic

--

--

Yasmeen El Gerbi

I like exploring the complexity underlying our ideas, emotions, stories, norms, and lives.